{Top Ten Tuesday} Throwback to Some Old Favorites

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish, and this week’s topic is Throwback Freebie: Top Ten Older Books I Forgot How Much I Loved.

I’ve only been blogging for a few years, but I’ve been reading for a lot longer and have lots of old favorites. Some day I’d like to re-read some of these books (just can’t bring myself to do it when I have so many new books calling my name). I own hard copies of most of these…the Kindle hadn’t been invented yet. 🙂

     

Mr. Perfect was one of my first romantic suspense reads, and my first Linda Howard book. It still tops my list of all time favorites in that genre.

I used to have an unhealthy obsession with Nicholas Sparks. He’s the only famous author I’ve met in person, and this was the book I had him sign, which is my favorite of his books.

It’s been years since I read a Jude Deveraux book, but this one was my absolute favorite.

I almost put Twilight on this list, but I picked The Host instead. It took me three tries to get into this book, but once I did, I read it in a day. I still haven’t seen the movie.

Whispers and Lies still remains my all time favorite suspense novel. I vividly remember the night I read this book – I started it in the evening and didn’t put it down until I finished it at 1 am. I was jumping at every noise in my house, because it had me so freaked out.

 

    

This was the first Laura Dave book that I read and loved. I had just had minor surgery and picked this book to read while I was laid up. I finished it in a day, because I loved it so much.

The Sweet Gum Tree – hideous book cover, but probably the best book I’ve ever read. People on Goodreads recommend this book, and I admit that I would have never read it, if it weren’t for so many great reviews. Do not judge this book by it’s cover, and go read it.

Speaking of lame book covers, I almost didn’t pick up Anna and the French Kiss, because of the cheesy book cover. It ended up becoming my favorite YA book of all time.

Firefly Lane was my first Kristin Hannah book, and one of my favorites of her books. I remember sobbing when I finished it, which is pretty much what I do when I read any of her books.

I love Emily Giffin’s books – when I started getting back into reading more, it was this series that I picked up and devoured in one weekend. They are the best of chick lit.

 

Have you read any of these? What did you think?

9 thoughts on “{Top Ten Tuesday} Throwback to Some Old Favorites

  1. pennma05 says:

    Love this list!! I loved The Guardian, The Host, and Anna & the French Kiss. I did see the movie of The Host and it’s definitely not as good as the book. I haven’t done Top Ten Tuesday in a long time but I’m really liking this theme so I think I might just have to do it haha.

Leave a Reply

