{Friday Five} 10-13-17

 

{This Week in Books}

 

I really haven’t had much time to read this week. And when I finally sit down and pick up my book, I fall asleep. I am not very far into the King book – but I like it. Because I refuse to lug that monstrosity around with me, I have been reading The Great Alone on my Kindle, too. I had started it a few months ago, and wasn’t in the mood for it. Picked it back up and now I’m loving it. Mood always plays such a huge part in my reading – this is why I fail miserably at making TBR lists!!

 

{Stay the Path}

I promised myself I would hit at least 10k a day all month, especially on non-running days. Some days it’s tough, but I’m getting it done.  I am such a klutz that I dropped a really heavy picture on my foot this week. I manage to stub/break my toes at least once a year, so I was due for this. 😀 I’m just sucking it up and running anyway! That’s what Ibuprofen is for, right?

 

{On a Personal Note}

Today is my husband’s 40th birthday. Unfortunately the poor guy has to work, and he’s got me all freaked out because it’s ‘Friday the 13th’ and he’s going to be  high up on ladders all day (he works for a gutter company). Please say a little prayer for his safety.

I’m surprising him tonight with a donut cake. For the past 10 years, he’s been telling me he wants a donut cake like the one he used to get as a kid from a donut place that went out of business. I finally found a bakery that makes them – it’s basically like a giant longjohn/creamstick donut. I’m picking it up after I work in the office and can’t wait to surprise him when I get home. He had given up on ever getting a donut cake again. 🙂

Tomorrow night is the real celebration – I’m throwing him a party.  About 30 of our family and friends are coming over. It’s going to be beautiful weather, and hopefully he’ll have a great time.

 

 {Get in my Closet}

 It’s finally starting to feel like sweater weather in Ohio. I’ve mentioned that I get a lot of my sweaters at Target and Amazon, but another favorite place is Jane. You can find boutique quality items for a lot less than you’d pay directly from a boutique. Jane is basically like an Overstock-type website, and their inventory changes daily. But a lot of times I’ll see the same items show up again after a few weeks, and they’re usually from the same sellers. A few of my favorite long pocket cardigans came from Jane – which were actually from Tickled Teal. But where their cardigans sell for $42 on their direct website, I’ve only paid $26 for them from Jane. Nice deal, right?! And they are great quality – super soft and comfortable.

I’ve purchased a lot of items from Jane the past few years. Scarves, tunics, pants, booties – and I have loved just about everything! You can’t beat the prices, either.

 

{So Random}

Being a mom is hard. It’s the most important job I’ll ever have in my life. It can be scary and overwhelming at times, and there have been many times when I’ve felt like I failed my daughter. Tarryn Fisher wrote a very raw and honest post about failing as a mom, and I think it’s a must read.

 

21 thoughts on “{Friday Five} 10-13-17

  1. AboutThatStory says:

    Great post! I have never heard of Jane but I’m totally going to check it out. Congrats on staying the path with your running… it’s so hard to fit everything in. I am the same way. At this point working out helps keep me sane! Enjoy your weekend!

  2. StephTheBookworm says:

    I LOVE Jane! I also love Zulilly because their shipping prices are better than Jane (buy one item and pay shipping, then you get free shipping the rest of the day). I’ve gotten so many good things from Jane though including tons of clothes and awesome boots.

    Happy birthday to the hubby! A donut cake?! Jerry would lose his mind! Have a great time at the party.

  3. Michelle says:

    Sweater weather! I haven’t quite caved yet. (I don’t count cardigans since I almost always have one with me for cold offices in the summer.) I am in need of some new sweaters though. As Holly told me, most of my sweaters are very “not me.” I just think they are old and tired.

    Keep plugging away with the King. It gets interesting.

    Happy birthday to your husband! And no fears about the day. Jim and I were married on a Friday the 13th. I always consider them a good luck day!

  4. Alicia @ A Kernel of Nonsense says:

    I haven’t had a lot of time to read this week either and at the end of the day, I just kind of want to shut off my brain instead of reading. I’ve never had a donut cake, but it sounds delicious. I’m so jealous of your sweater weather. It’s still pretty hot and dry in southern California. Hopefully I have a reason to unearth all my sweaters soon. I hope your husband’s party is most enjoyable for both him and you. Have a lovely weekend!

  5. Carrie says:

    Hope your hubby had a grand 40th! You are so sweet to search high and low to find the perfect cake just for him. Great wife! As a mom of a 30 year old, I can relate to failure…I’m headed to read the post you mentioned. Have a beautiful weekend!

Leave a Reply

