{Happy Monday} 10-16-17

Just a fun way to share my thoughts and recap our weekend shenanigans.

 

Birthday success: My husband was really surprised by the donut cake and loved it. Definitely getting the cake again for future birthdays. And his birthday party was a success. It was so nice to have our friends and family over. Β We had a fire going, people playing cornhole, and the kids had fun on the trampoline. I even played a few rounds of flip cup, which I haven’t played in years. πŸ˜‰ It was just a really nice night, not to mention the perfect weather we had. My husband said he had a great time, and I’m happy it was a success.

Leftovers: We rarely eat leftovers. My husband just isn’t a fan of them, and honestly, I’m not either. I’m usually not in the mood to eat the same thing several nights in a row. But, when you make a bunch of food for a party, and there’s leftovers, you eat them! The good thing was that my husband was so busy socializing that he didn’t really get to eat anything on Saturday night. So yesterday he had no problem eating leftovers all day long. And after making all that food – I was all for taking a day off from cooking. I also learned that I can make decent creamed chicken and BBQ pulled pork – we’ll definitely be repeating those dinners in the future.

Ohio weather: Hey there, 50 degrees! The weather forecast for the rest of the week is looking fabulous. Sunny and 50-70 degrees every day. THIS is fall in Ohio, and I love it. I’m about to head to the park shortly for a run – I love running in this weather. It may even be cool enough this evening to turn on the fireplace.

Clean house: I’m a neat freak. OCD. Everything has it’s place and nothing can be out of place. I vacuum daily. It’s just how I’ve always been since I was a kid. Growing up my bedroom was always immaculate. I don’t know why I am this way, but it is what it is, and my husband has learned to deal with it. πŸ˜€ I get into these cleaning/purging/organizing moods a few times a year. They are random, but once they hit, I’m on a mission. The other day I cleaned out all the storage closets, kitchen cabinets, junk drawers. I tossed several bags of trash and took 4 bags to Goodwill. It felt good! I love getting rid of stuff and having an organized house. After the party this weekend, our trash is pretty full, and it doesn’t get picked up until Wednesday. On his way out the door this morning, my husband told me not to get into one of my cleaning moods, because there’s not enough room in the trash. Ha. I think I’ll be good for a few weeks. πŸ˜‰

Bookworms: After such a busy few days, all I wanted yesterday was to have a chill day. And it’s exactly what I got. I did go for a run at the park in the morning, but the rest of the day we all hung out at home, watching football and relaxing. By the end of the night, Sunnie was curled up beside me reading her book. It was the perfect way to end the weekend.

 

Β 

 

 

 

Linking up with Heather @ My Glittery Heart

18 thoughts on “{Happy Monday} 10-16-17

  1. Laurel-Rain Snow says:

    I like things in their place, too, but I am embarrassed to admit how infrequently I actually vacuum! I use the hand vac for small things, but now I feel like a real pig! LOL.

    Your birthday dinner sounded good and I love leftover party food.

    Enjoy your weather and your cool run. Here are MY WEEKLY UPDATES

    • Brandie says:

      Lol, don’t feel like that! I’m freakishly neat – it’s not normal!! Lol. Most people don’t vacuum as often as I do. But we have 2 cats, live in a small house, and have really bad allergies. I do it so we can breath better. πŸ˜‰

  2. Nadia says:

    That’s so awesome the birthday party turned out so well πŸ™‚ I’m with you about leftover food, but leftover cake I can deal with – LOL! I’m jealous of your weather – we are in the high 80s and it feels like its in the 90s 😦 As for reading – is that the King book I spy? I’m finally reading the second part. I feel like this book is taking forever to get through. By the by, I love this idea of Happy Monday posts – so cool!

    • Brandie says:

      After growing up in Ohio, I just don’t think I could live in warm weather climates year round. I’d miss the seasons for sure.
      Yes, I’m working on the new King. It is SO LONG. I am only a little over 100 pages in. I like it, it’s just too long.

  3. Jade @ Reading With Jade says:

    Your husband’s birthday sounds lovely and I’m happy to hear he enjoyed the cake – if I were to have a birthday cake, I love the ones from childhood also and so that’s such a lovely gesture.

    The picture of you and Sunnie reading is just too precious!

    A wonderful week to you and your family.

  4. StephTheBookworm says:

    Sounds like a great weekend! I’m with you on the organization and cleanliness. My house is never as clean or neat as I’d like it to be… hard to do with a toddler! However, it drives me bonkers and I obsess about it until I get it cleaned. I love going on those purges of cleaning though. I am forever packing up stuff for the Goodwill! I always have a box going. It’s so freeing! LOL

    That picture of Sunnie with you is SO SWEET!

  5. Michelle says:

    I was thinking of you on Saturday, hoping the party went well!

    I haven’t gone into one of those purge modes in months, so I figure I am due soon. I did move some furniture around yesterday and removed a rug that the dog was ruining. Plus, I switched out the bedding to our winter bedding. So cozy. I love a clean house too but struggle with a husband and daughter who refuse to wipe down countertops after breakfast or making their lunch. As for floors, my Roomba was the best present I ever received. Daily vacuuming without having to do it myself!

    • Brandie says:

      I need a Roomba!! I’m thinking Christmas present idea for this year. πŸ˜‰
      I have the same struggles with my husband. He’s a fairly neat guy, but wiping up counters he won’t do. My biggest peeve is leaving shoes everywhere and leaving drawers/cabinets wide open in every room. He has some weird phobia about closing things. If I come into a room after him, I usually have to shut every cabinet or drawer. It’s so weird! Lol.
      We don’t have winter bedding, but I’m thinking that is a good idea – I need to get some!

  6. Grace @ Rebel Mommy Book Blog says:

    Glad your party worked out well!! We do leftovers here mostly for lunches. The weather is getting cooler here too and I love it. I wish I was a neat freak. I have been organizing but the house is still a bit of the mess. I love the pic of you and your daughter reading ❀

  7. Holly B / Dressedtoread says:

    I clean just like you! Sometimes vacuum at 5 AM before I head off to work! I just can’t relax in a messy environment. I have a new dyson cordless …easy peasy…enjoy your week of fall!

Leave a Reply

